Elmwood MJCT sets the stage for tour championship

By: Kyle Jahns

The Elmwood MJCT finalized the point standings for the 2012 MJCT Championship. One junior men’s team used it to climb even further up the ranks in the top 10 and a junior women’s team used it to shoot up nine spots and into the championship.

8-1 is a good score for the Jordan Smith team. They won three of their four Elmwood MJCT games by the seven-point deficit.

Smith qualified through the A event. He defeated Nathaniel Swanson by a score of 8-1 and Brandon Radford by a score of 6-4.

In the championship round Smith defeated JT Ryan in the semi-finals 8-1.

Jordan Smith and teammates, Declan Moulden, Brad Van Hulle, Jordan Knuston and fifth Martin Knuston, captured the Elmwood MJCT junior men’s championship with a convincing 8-1 win over Randy Greig.

Smith rose from fourth in the Manitoba Junior Curling Tour rankings to second with his victory. He has 31 points and is only behind Matt Dunstone with 44.

Smith knew the Elmwood MJCT would be a good opportunity to gain some points.

“We had the idea that there was some teams out in Brandon, so we figured this was our weekend to do something and I guess we did,” he said.

Smith opened up the game with a deuce and Greig scored a single in the second end.

“The first couple ends we were just trying to keep it close, but that third end really helped,” he said.

After Greig jammed a hit in the third end, Smith was left with an open draw for five points. They went on to steal an additional point in the fourth after Greig attempted a hit, but rolled away from the button for second shot.

“We felt pretty laid back and having good games,” Smith said. “We’re trying to peak for regionals which is two weekends from now, so I think we’re feeling pretty good about that.”

Abby Ackland and her junior women’s team raised up seven spots and have officially qualified for the MJCT Championships after picking up the Elmwood MJCT title.

The Ackland team went from eleventh place in the standings with six points to a tie for second. Ackland and Selena Kaatz both have 24 points. The Kristy Watling team leads the pack with 40 points after they made the semi-finals.

Ackland and her team of Meaghan Brezden, Lisa Reid, and Danielle LaFleur defeated Jessica Rutter in the final by a score of 4-2.

They played a clean game and forced Rutter to attempt freezes in the eighth end. Rutter attempted to draw behind a rock in the 12-foot with her last stone but she left it open. Ackland made the hit to run Rutter out of rocks and claim the championship.

“We just wanted to keep it open, kind of work on our weight and kind of work on different shots we’ve been playing. They’re a good team and they were tough to play,” Ackland said.

Ackland finished first in her pool with a 4-0 record. She defeated Jesse Iles by scores of 9-2 and 9-4, Rutter by a score of 6-4 and Allyson Spencer by a score of 6-5.

Ackland played Meagan Grenkow in the semi-final and won 9-3.

“It was good we came this far and it was good we played so well this weekend,” Ackland said.

The MJCT Championships will take place at the Wildewood Curling Club on Dec. 7-9. The top 10 teams in both the junior men and women’s divisions will be invited.

View the weekend’s results here:

Elmwood MJCT draw now available

Both the junior men and women Elmwood MJCT draws are available online. Click here to access them.

The junior men will compete in a 14-team triple knock-out tournament. The junior women will play a round robin format with 9 teams. Pool A consists of 5 teams and Pool B will have 4.

Best of luck!

Dunstone and Peterson claim Kyle Flett Memorial Bonspiel

By Kyle Jahns

One team has been there and done that, the other team made a trip to the final for the second week straight, and managed to capitalize.

Matt Dunstone and Beth Peterson won the junior men and women’s divisions of the Kyle Flett Memorial Bonspiel at the Petersfield Curling Club.

This is Dunstone’s second Manitoba Junior Curling Tour win of the season, and his team completed them back-to-back. In early October Dunstone won the Stonewall Junior Classic.

Dunstone won the event the same way he did last time, sweeping the competition and winning one of the A qualifier spots. Dunstone defeated Brandon Radford, Aaron Anderson, Randy Greig and Tanner Lott in the final.

“Our semi final game, we came out flat so we knew we had to come out with focus. We knew we were playing a good team so we had to be sharp,” Dunstone said.

The game was tied after seven and Dunstone was coming home with the hammer.  Lott was faced with a draw through the port to sit shot stone and force Dunstone to throw his last rock. However, Lott’s rock didn’t curl enough and Dunstone didn’t need to throw.

The game was filled with all kinds of spectacular shots, including a raise back triple by Lott to score two points in the seventh.

Dunstone believed the ends where his team gave up points was avoidable.

“I kind of got a little lazy on my last shot and set up him and he made a great shot.”

Dunstone’s team consists of third Colton Lott, second Dan Grant and lead Brendan MacCuish.

“They’re great guys to play with, they’re playing good and we’re all playing well right now,” Dunstone said.

Beth Peterson and her rink of third Robyn Njegovan, second Melissa Gordon and lead Breanne Yozenko, have won 11 of the past 12 games.

They were competing in Petersfield the week prior in the CurlManitoba Canola Junior Women’s Berth bonspiel. They won all of their games except for the final against Alyssa Vandepoele.

Peterson and her team played in a round robin format draw and defeated Shannon Birchard, Kristy Watling and Natasha Van Dorp. They finished first in pool A and defeated Rebecca Lamb in the semi finals before defeating Watling again in the finals by a score of 7-1. They won the majority of those games quite handily too.

“It was strange. We were just saying, at this level it’s not normal to blow the competition out,” Peterson said.

They carry on their hot streak this weekend when they travel to Brandon to compete in the prestigious Sunlife Junior Challenge in Brandon. Dunstone will be there too.

“Lately we’ve been really consistent…and kind of on a hot streak.

The Kyle Flett Memorial Bonspiel is named in honour of Petersfield Curling Club’s junior curler Kyle Flett. He passed away at the age of 20 after a snowmobile accident in Dec. 2007. In 2006 he and his team made it to the junior men’s provincial final.

Look below for the results:

Kyle Flett Memorial Draw

The draw for the 2012 Kyle Flett Memorial Bonspiel in Petersfield on Nov. 8-11 is available to download in the links below.

10 women’s teams will compete in a 2 pool, 5 team tournament with a 4 team championship.

12 men’s teams will compete in triple-knockout format with a four team championship.

2012 Kyle Flett Memorial Bonspiel Junior Men’s Draw (UPDATED)

2012 Kyle Flett Memorial Bonspiel Junior Women’s Draw